Birth/Werk
Birth/Werk
Shaking Out Stress - A 7-Minute Audio Recording That I Made
0:00
-7:33

Shaking Out Stress - A 7-Minute Audio Recording That I Made

Over the summer I recorded a few mindfulness practices for a project that Amy Wright Glenn and I worked on. Each are 5-8 minutes and invite listeners to reflect, move, settle inward, and breathe.

Throughout the pandemic, friends invited me to various mindfulness apps and practices. The Shine App, founded by 2 women of color, is my favorite. I used them and others as inspiration for this project and found the courage to record my voice.

I cringe a little when I listen to my voice. But, I think that what I’ve made here is pretty good. And, most importantly, I want to get better.

So, I’m sharing this recording with you. It’s the first of a few that I’ll share through August. Each were written and recored by me in my Harlem apartment.

Let me know what you think!

And be nice. In the words of Erykah Badu (our patron saint of doulas), “… keep in mind that I’m an artist and I’m sensitive about my shit.”

xo, Naima


Upcoming Events and Ways to Work Together 

  • I'm guest teaching at Debra Pascali-Bonaro’s DONA Postpartum Doula Training, August 9-13. This workshop is hosted by Birth Day Presence

  • I’m co-teaching an in-person Grief Work Training in Lawrenceville, NJ - Saturday, September 25th. This course is open to all.

  • I'm co-teaching The Advanced Holding Space for Pregnancy Loss course with Amy Wright Glenn on 3 Saturdays in October. *This course has been approved by Lamaze International for 8.0 Lamaze Contact Hours. These hours may be applied towards recertification as an LCCE educator under learning competencies 1, 6, and 7. More info and registration are here

  • Take a comprehensive, evidence-based, and self-paced Birth Prep Class with me on the Soshe App. And use this code to save: EXTRA20NB

  • I hold space, 1:1, for people experiencing challenges becoming pregnant and for those who have experienced pregnancy loss. Black women are able to access this service at a discounted rate. More here.

  • Use my scheduling link to book a free 15 minute consultation for any service.

  • If you’re interested in having me as a speaker, instructor, or consultant on a project, write to me at naima@foryourbirth.com

0 Comments
Birth/Werk
Birth/Werk
A space for birth workers and birth givers to recharge and get inspired
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Naima Beckles